Low-budget Portfolio Building for new writer

Book Selector Wood
3 min readApr 1, 2022

I am no expertise, I am a new writer myself. I am just sharing from a new writer perspective, with a low kickoff budget.

build free writer portfolio low budget writer portfolio
from Pexels by Andrew Neel

We all know there are loads of writer portfolio platform to choose from. Type “Writer Portfolio” into Google search, you get overwhelming amount of results. But some still struggle to start, because of low kickoff budget.

I have been there, I know the pain. So I try something new

It might take a little more work, but at least you can start

For People to see you

Yes, sometimes people just come across your profile, see your writing and give you a chance. So make every channel count.

Your Freelance Site Profile

The first thing to handle seriously, are all the self-introduction on freelance site and selling sites. Please pay some effort and make it right! Tailor your profile introduction for every site.

What to personalize for platforms: the tone, the content, the structure

Think of this as your CV cover letter. You won’t use the same cover letter for all companies. So don’t do this to your freelance site profiles.

Think of the USP I mentioned in my last article. Highlight it in the profile…

--

--

Book Selector Wood

Jazz lover | Digital Marketing Experts | Bibliotherapy | Reader and Writer | A daughter